Hymns #18 and #19

Here are two more hymn rewrites that I did this summer. They are part of a project called ‘Pentecost Songs’, produced by Cardiphonia. The 23 songs on this compilation are really incredible, and you can download the whole thing for free here.

 

 

 

Breathe on Me

(listen | chart)

1 Breathe on me, Breath of God,
fill me with life anew,
that I may love what thou dost love,
and do what thou wouldst do.

2 Breathe on me, Breath of God,
until my heart is pure,
until my will is one with thine,
to do and to endure.

3 Breathe on me, Breath of God,
till I am wholly thine,
until this earthly part of me
glows with thy fire divine.

4 Breathe on me, Breath of God,
so shall I never die,
but live with thee the perfect life
of thine eternity.

Great Comforter, Descend

(listen | chart)

Why should the children of a King
Go mourning all their days?
Great Comforter! descend and bring
Some tokens of thy grace.

Refrain:
Great Comforter, descend! and bring
Some tokens of thy grace

Dost thou not dwell in all the saints,
And seal the heirs of heav’n?
When wilt thou banish my complaints,
And show my sins forgiv’n?

Assure my conscience of her part
In the Redeemer’s blood
And bear thy witness with my heart,
That I am born of God.

Thou art the earnest of his love,
The pledge of joys to come;
And thy soft wings, celestial Dove,
Will safe convey me home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

